Pumpkin Spiced Crinkles

Thanksgiving is one of those holidays that baking happens.  It is also the season for pumpkin spiced things.  I was invited to a friend’s house for Thanksgiving and I wanted to bring something festive, so I decided to give this recipe a try.

20161010_112246

Pumpkin Crinkle Cookies

Makes 30-40 cookies (depending on size)

INGREDIENTS

  • 330g plain flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 salt
  • 1 teaspoon all spice
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 100g unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 250g soft dark brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 200g pumpkin puree
  • 100g icing sugar, for coating

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. In a large bowl, sieve together and mix the flour, baking powder, salt, all spice, cinnamon and ginger. Set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a freestanding mixer, cream together the butter and soft brown sugar, until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing after each addition. Add the pumpkin puree and mix further. Don’t worry if the mixture looks a like it is curdling, it will come together once the flour is added. Slowly add the dry ingredients and continue to mix on a slow speed.
  3. Once thoroughly mixed, cover the bowl with food wrap and refrigerate for approximately two hours to allow the dough to firm up.
  4. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C, or Gas Mark 4. Line two baking trays with baking parchment. Place the icing sugar in a small bowl. With a medium size ice cream scoop, scoop the batter and drop the batter into the icing sugar and coat completely. Place on the baking tray and repeat, equally spacing the cookies.
  5. Bake for approximately 12-15 minutes, rotating the pan half way through the bake. Allow the cookies to cool a little on a tray before transferring to a wire cooling rack.
  6. Serve. Store in an airtight container.

_________________________________________________________________

As you may notice, in the ingredients it says  “1/4 salt”.  I believe it’s supposed to be 1/4 teaspoon of salt, so that’s what I used.  I actually followed almost everything exactly except 3 things.

1. 100g of icing sugar.  I just poured the icing sugar into a bowl when I coating, adding more as needed.

2. Baking temperature. I used 350 degrees F because my oven didn’t does have a Celsius setting.


Easy to make?

Yes, it was very easy to make these cookies.  The directions were clear and easy to follow.  Nothing was hard or unclear, of course having experience in making crinkles doesn’t hurt.

How’d they turn out?
The recipe turned out great!  I got many compliments.  I’m not a fan pumpkin so I was very worried to try these, but I enjoyed them very much.  The spices really helped flavour the pumpkin.

Timing?
I think when it came to timing, it was short and sweet.  I wanted to try to make the dough and freeze it like I do with the Red Velvet Crinkles, but I noticed the dough was a lot softer than the red velvet one, so I didn’t want to risk it.

Overall?
I was asked for the recipe a couple of times already, so I would say it was a fantastic!  For a person who isn’t too fond of pumpkin products, myself and my husband also enjoyed these cookies.  These are definitely going to become a favourite Fall treat in my household.

the Contented Baker’s  Pumpkin Spiced Crinkles, you’re YOL Approved!

Leave a Reply

